Scientific Resource Board

Our Scientific Resource Board serves as an advisory group to Genentech regarding our research and early development projects.

Richard Axel, MD
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Columbia University

Yasmine Belkaid, PhD
President, Institut Pasteur

Herbert W. Boyer, PhD
Co-Founder of Genentech

John D. Carpten, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
Irell & Manella Cancer Center Director's Distinguished Chair
Morgan & Helen Chu Director's Chair of the Beckman Research Institute
Professor, Department of Integrative Translational Sciences
City of Hope

Christina Curtis, PhD, MSc
Professor of Medicine, Genetics & Biomedical Data Science
Stanford University School of Medicine
Director, Artificial Intelligence and Cancer Genomics
Director, Breast Cancer Translational Research
Stanford Cancer Institute
Investigator, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub

Alison M. Goate, PhD
Jean C. and James W. Crystal Professor and Chair,
Director, Ronald M Loeb Center for Alzheimer’s Disease
Department of Genetics and Genomic Sciences,
Institute for Data Science & Genomic Technology
Professor of Neuroscience, Professor of Neurology,
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

David M. Holtzman, MD
Professor and Chair of Neurology
Scientific Director of the Hope Center, Knight ADRC
Department of Neurology
Washington University School of Medicine

Deb Hung, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Genetics
Massachusetts General Hospital & Harvard Medical School
Director, Center for Integrated Solutions to Infectious Diseases
Co-Director, Infectious Disease and Microbiome Program
Broad Institute of MIT & Harvard

Akiko Iwasaki, PhD
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Department of Immunobiology
Yale University School of Medicine

Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD.
Chief Executive Officer
American Cancer Society

Richard P. Lifton, MD, PhD
Carson Family Professor
The Rockefeller University

Richard Locksley, MD
Sandler Distinguished Professorship in Asthma Research
Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
University of California, San Francisco

Diane Mathis, PhD
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Harvard Medical School

Fiona Powrie, DBE, PhD, FRS, FMedSci
Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences
Director, Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology
University of Oxford

Dean Sheppard, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Sleep
Director, Lung Biology Center
University of California, San Francisco

Brian Shoichet, PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
University of California San Francisco

Kevan Shokat, PhD
Professor, Department of Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology
University of California, San Francisco
Professor, Department of Chemistry
University of California, Berkeley
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Beth Stevens, PhD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Boston Children's Hospital
Harvard Medical School