We founded an External Council for Advancing Inclusive Research® with leading experts who are partnering with us to develop solutions to reduce barriers to clinical study participation and define the next era of inclusive research.

Additionally, through our Advancing Inclusive Research (AIR) Site Alliance, we are prioritizing inclusive research to increase patient representation in clinical studies.

External Council Members

Meet the External Council Members
AIR Site Alliance Champions

Meet the Site Alliance Champions

External Council

The External Council for Advancing Inclusive Research is composed of physician thought leaders, academic researchers, and patient advocates with expertise in oncology, ophthalmology and neuroscience clinical care, research and genomics.

Otis Brawley, MD, MACP, FRCP (L), FASCO, FACE

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University

John Carpten, PhD

Director of City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center; Director of Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope, and Chief Scientific Officer

Keith D. Carter, MD, FACS

Chairman and Head, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Iowa; Past President of the American Academy of Ophthalmology

Joseph Coney, MD, FASRS

Ophthalmologist & Retinal Specialist, Retina Associates of Cleveland, Case Western Reserve and University Hospital

Andrea Ferris, MBA

President & Chief Executive Officer, LUNGevity Foundation

Owen Garrick, MD, MBA

Chief Medical Officer, Clinical Trial Services, CVS Health

Edward S. Kim, MD, MBA FACP, FASCO

Physician-in-Chief and Senior Vice President, City of Hope Orange County, and Vice Physician-in-Chief, City of Hope National Medical Center

Ruben A. Mesa, MD, FACP

Enterprise Senior Vice President, Atrium Health, and Vice Dean for Cancer Programs, Wake Forest University School of Medicine

Edith Mitchell, MD, MACP, FCCP, FRCP (L)

Enterprise Vice President for Cancer Disparities, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
In Memoriam; Genentech is grateful for Dr. Mitchell's commitment to advance inclusive research and health equity and as a founding member of the External Council for Advancing Inclusive Research.

Stephanie Monroe, JD

Executive Director, UsAgainstAlzheimer’s African American Network

Edith Perez, MD

Professor Emeritus, Mayo Clinic

Fabian Sandoval, MD

President & Chief Executive Officer, Emerson Clinical Research Institute

Mitzi Joi Williams, MD, FAAN

Neurologist & MS Specialist, Joi Life Wellness Group, Department of Neurology, Emory University

Robert Winn, MD

Director NCI Cancer Center, Virginia Commonwealth University, Massey Cancer Center

Quita Highsmith, MBA

Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Genentech

Karsten Jung, PhD, MBA

Head of Global Product Strategy, Co-Chair, Advancing Inclusive Research, Roche Pharmaceuticals

Toby Patterson, MD

Senior Vice President and Head, US Medical Affairs, Co-Chair, Advancing Inclusive Research, Genentech

Nicole Richie, PhD

VP, Global Head Health Equity & Population Science, Co-Lead, Advancing Inclusive Research, Genentech

Veronica Sandoval, PhD, JD

Principal, Patient Inclusion & Health Equity, Chief Diversity Office, Genentech

Pierre Theodore, MD

Executive Director, Patient Inclusion & Health Equity, Chief Diversity Office, Genentech

Gerren Wilson, PharmD

Lifecycle Leader, Respiratory & Allergy Franchise, Roche

Advancing Inclusive Research Site Alliance Champions

The U.S. Advancing Inclusive Research Site Alliance is a coalition of clinical research sites in oncology and ophthalmology that partner with Genentech to advance the representation of diverse patient populations in the company’s clinical trials, test recruitment and retention approaches, and establish best practices that can be leveraged across the industry to help achieve health equity.

Jeremiah Brown, Jr. MS, MD

Vitreoretinal Surgeon, Retina Consultants of Texas / Brown Retina Institute

Bassel El-Rayes, MD

Deputy Director of O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB and Director of the Division of Hematology and Oncology

Oana Danciu, MD

UICC Associate Director of Clinical Research

Balazs Halmos, MD, MS

Associate Director for Clinical Science, Director, Thoracic Oncology, Director, Precision Medicine, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Montefiore Einstein Comprehensive Cancer Center

Alex Herrera, MD

Associate Professor, Chief, Division of Lymphoma, Department of Hematology & Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation, City of Hope

Stephen Huddleston, MD

Vitreoretinal Surgeon, Charles Retina Institute

Kapil Kapoor, MD, FACS, FICS, FASRS

Ophthalmologist and Eye Surgeon, President of Research, Wagner Kapoor Institute

Supreet Kaur, MD

Assistant Professor, Mays Cancer Center, UT San Antonio

Daruka Mahadevan, MD, PhD

Division Chief, Hematology/Medical Oncology, Director of the Institute of Drug Development, Mays Cancer Center, UT San Antonio

Amelie Ramirez, Dr.PH

Chair and Professor of the Department of Population Health Sciences, Director of the Institute for Health Promotion Research, Director of the Salud America program, Associate Director of Cancer Outreach and Engagement at Mays Cancer Center at UT Health San Antonio

Barry Sleckman, MD, PhD

Director, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Alabama, Birmingham

Gregory Vidal, MD, PhD

Director of Clinical Research, Lead, Breast Cancer Division, OneOncology, West Cancer Center, Associate Professor University of Tennessee Health Science Center


Founder, Ophthalmologist, and Eye Surgeon, Wagner Kapoor Institute

Ruma Bhagat, MD, MPH

Principal Science Leader, Global Health Equity & Population Sciences, Genentech

Meghan McKenzie, MA

Principal, Patient Inclusion & Health Equity, Chief Diversity Office, Genentech